EndourologyRobotic / laparoscopicUnited States
University of Florida (Robotic Surgery & MI Urologic Oncology)
Gainesville, FL
One-year robotic surgery and minimally invasive urologic oncology fellowship: robotic prostate, kidney, bladder and testis cancer surgery on multiport and SP platforms, prostate focal therapy and fusion biopsy, and clinical trials training in the UF Health Cancer Institute.
Length1 year
StartsJuly 1
SalaryPGY-6 level: $81,136 per year in 2026-27
Endourological Society RSMIUO fellowship (robotics/laparoscopy certification)
What stands out
- Focal therapy training in HIFU, cryoablation, IRE and TULSA, with MRI/PET segmentation and software fusion transperineal biopsy
- Fellow is expected to lead the biweekly GU multidisciplinary tumor board by year end
- Clinical trials training via weekly GU trials meetings and the cancer center's Investigator Initiated Trials Think Tank
- Supine anterior retroperitoneal access (SARA) kidney surgery and robotic caval thrombectomy for Level I to II and select Level III thrombi
- Program leads
- Li-Ming Su, Padraic O'Malley, Tarik Benidir
- Apply through
- Endourological Society Match
- Focus
- Robotic & MI urologic oncology: multiport and SP robotic prostatectomy, partial and radical nephrectomy, cystectomy with intracorporeal diversion, RPLND, focal therapy (HIFU, IRE, TULSA, cryoablation), clinical trials
- Eligibility
- Not open to Canadian-trained applicantsUSMLE: not statedVisa: not stated
- Contact
- Loading contact…
Training
- Structure
- Per week about 3 operative days, 1 independent clinic/OR day and 1 research day; time with medical and radiation oncology, pathology and radiology
- Research
- Weekly research day; essay manuscript plus a second Journal of Endourology paper expected; mentorship in designing and running investigator-initiated trials
- Case numbers
- Over 150 prostatectomies per year (department)
- Over 300 renal cases per year across 5 surgeons (department)
- Over 50 radical cystectomies per year (department)
- 74 focal therapy cases Jan 2025 to Jan 2026: 30 HIFU, 33 cryotherapy, 11 IRE
- Fellowship-related faculty cases per year: over 350 upper tract and over 300 lower tract procedures
- Hospitals
- UF Health Shands Hospital · UF Health Cancer Institute (NCI-designated)
- Faculty
- Paul L. Crispen, Jason P. Joseph
Requirements (4)
- Completed approved US urology residency
- Endourological Society application
- CV
- Minimum of three letters of recommendation