Female & FunctionalUnited States
Houston Methodist Hospital (URPS, Urology)
Houston, TX
Two-year ACGME-accredited fellowship for urology graduates, run by Houston Methodist urology with OB/GYN, plastic surgery, colorectal and neurology faculty. Training covers voiding dysfunction, neuro-urology, prolapse, incontinence, prosthetics and bowel and urinary reconstruction.
Length2 years
Spots1 fellow per year
SalaryHouston Methodist GME 2026-27 scale: $72,080 (level 1) to $92,986 (level 8)
ACGME
What stands out
- Monthly transitional urology clinic for young adults with congenital neuro-urologic conditions
- Monthly El Centro De Corazon community clinic; fellows also help run a URPS outreach clinic for uninsured women
- Off-service blocks in colorectal surgery, plastic surgery, GI and pelvic floor muscle therapy; reconstructive urology blocks at MD Anderson
- Training includes male artificial sphincter and sling, augmentation cystoplasty, urinary diversion and mesh injury repair
- Program lead
- Ricardo R. Gonzalez
- Apply through
- NRMP (Urogynecology)
- Focus
- Voiding dysfunction, urinary tract and pelvic reconstruction, neurourology, prosthetics, female pelvic medicine
- Eligibility
- Open to Canadian-trained applicantsUSMLE: not statedVisa: not stated
- Contact
- Loading contact…
Training
- Structure
- 24 months; the 2022-23 block plan allots about 55% operative, 40% non-operative and 5% research time per block, plus one full research block
- Research
- Fellows join faculty clinical and basic science projects; monthly journal club, weekly URPS and neuro-urology didactics, grand rounds presentations
- Hospitals
- Houston Methodist Hospital · MD Anderson Cancer Center · UT Physicians Specialty Clinics
- Faculty
- Kathleen Kobashi, Rose Khavari, Julie Stewart, Danielle Antosh, Marianne Cusick, Michael Snyder
Requirements (6)
- Graduation from a 5- or 6-year ACGME-accredited urology residency
- Board certified or board eligible (American Board of Urology)
- Citizen of the United States or Canada
- CV
- Personal statement
- Three letters of recommendation