Urologic OncologyUnited States
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN
Two-year SUO program based at the IU Simon Comprehensive Cancer Center and IU Health University Hospital: a research year with mostly protected time, then a clinical year of open and minimally invasive GU cancer surgery, plus multidisciplinary didactics.
Length2 years (1 research year, then 1 clinical year)
SUO accredited
What stands out
- Optional travel to Kenya through the IU partnership with Moi University and AMPATH
- Year 1 fellows serve as clinical staff at a county hospital and supervise residents
- Hereditary kidney cancer clinic and a monthly fusion/focal therapy conference
- Access to the Regenstrief Institute health outcomes database and IU School of Public Health support
- Program lead
- Timothy A. Masterson
- Apply through
- AUA / SUO Match
- Focus
- Advanced GU oncology surgery, multidisciplinary didactics, clinical and translational research
- Eligibility
- Open to Canadian-trained applicantsUSMLE: not statedVisa: not stated
- Contact
- Loading contact…
Training
- Structure
- Year 1 research (90% protected, under 10% clinical); year 2 dedicated to operative clinical training
- Research
- Year 1 clinical, translational and basic science research with Purdue collaboration; option to earn an MPH or other graduate degree; statistics courses
- Case numbers
- RPLND: 55 per fellow (average)
- Radical nephrectomy: 30; partial nephrectomy: 25 per fellow (average)
- Radical cystectomy: 28 with conduit, 24 with continent diversion per fellow (average)
- Radical prostatectomy: 26 per fellow (average)
- Pelvic exenteration with diversion 6, inguinal node dissection 6, penectomy 5 per fellow (average)
- Hospitals
- IU Melvin and Bren Simon Comprehensive Cancer Center · IU Health University Hospital · County hospital (year 1 clinical staff role)
- Faculty
- Clint D. Bahler, Ronald S. Boris, Clint Cary, Tom Gardner, Hristos Z. Kaimakliotis, Michael O. Koch, Kevin Rice
Requirements (2)
- Eligible for an unrestricted Indiana medical licence
- Completed an accredited residency in the US or Canada