Urologic OncologyUnited States
Loyola University Medical Center
Maywood, IL
SUO-accredited fellowship of at least two years: a mentored research year, then a clinical year of open, laparoscopic, robotic and energy-ablative surgery, with training in multidisciplinary care drawing on radiation and medical oncology, imaging and pathology.
LengthMinimum 2 years (1 research year, then 1 clinical year)
SUO accredited
What stands out
- Fellows hold junior faculty privileges and help teach Loyola urology residents
- Training spans two Loyola hospitals and the Edward Hines, Jr. VA Hospital
- Faculty take part in the Alliance Clinical Trials network and the Southwest Oncology Group (SWOG)
- Clinical year includes hands-on energy-ablative techniques
- Program lead
- Gopal N. Gupta
- Apply through
- AUA / SUO Match
- Timeline
- March 1 of the penultimate year of residency
- Focus
- Open, endoscopic, laparoscopic, robotic and ablative surgery; chemotherapy, immunotherapy and radiotherapy exposure; research across three sites
- Eligibility
- Not statedUSMLE: not statedVisa: not stated
- Contact
- Loading contact…
Training
- Structure
- Year 1 research plus one day of clinical practice; year 2 surgical training with one clinic day per week
- Research
- Year 1 mentored project(s); training in study design, biostatistics, clinical trials, data analysis and laboratory research
- Hospitals
- Loyola University Medical Center · Gottlieb Memorial Hospital · Edward Hines, Jr. VA Hospital
- Faculty
- Robert Flanigan, Marcus Quek, Michael Woods, Alex Gorbonos
Requirements (4)
- Completed or registered for ABU Part I, or ABU certified, before start
- CV
- Personal statement
- Two letters (program director and a faculty member)