Urologic OncologyUnited States
University of Chicago Medicine
Chicago, IL
Two-year SUO-approved fellowship in urologic oncology, laparoscopy and robotic surgery, with daily robotic, laparoscopic and open cancer cases. Clinical and bench research are both required for certification.
Length2 years (clinical and bench research)
Spots1 fellow per year (two-year commitment)
StartsJuly 1
SUO approved
What stands out
- Large animal lab (canine and porcine) with a da Vinci robot for new procedure and device research
- Robots: da Vinci Xi with dual console and Trumpf table, X, SP, and an Si for research and simulation
- IRB-approved prospective databases for prostatectomy, nephrectomy and cystectomy plus a urologic cancer biorepository
- Clinical trials office with Hematology-Oncology coordinating over 20 active trials
- Program lead
- Piyush Agarwal
- Apply through
- AUA / SUO Match
- Timeline
- Last cycle closed March 31, 2026; dates for the next cycle not yet posted
- Focus
- Urologic oncology, laparoscopy and robotic surgery including prostatectomy, cystectomy and nephrectomy; clinical and bench research
- Eligibility
- Not statedUSMLE: not statedVisa: not stated
- Contact
- Loading contact…
Training
- Structure
- Two years; clinic 1 day a week and daily operative experience alongside clinical and bench research projects
- Research
- Fellows enroll in the Clinical Research Training Program; outcomes, lab or large animal lab research; at least 3 to 5 peer-reviewed papers a year expected
- Case numbers
- Robotic prostatectomy: 500 cases per year
- Radical cystectomy: 125 per year; robotic cystectomy: 30 per year
- Laparoscopic partial nephrectomy: 100 per year; open partial: 30 per year
- Laparoscopic radical nephrectomy: 30 per year; open radical: 20 per year; RPLND: 25 per year
- Hospital
- University of Chicago Medicine
Requirements (3)
- Completed ACGME-accredited or foreign urology training
- Valid Illinois medical licence
- Fluent in English